Caspian Monday Music

07aug7:00 pmCaspian Monday MusicSchubert and More


Buy Tickets


Admission $23, Seniors $20, Students $10, Under 18 Free


(Monday) 7:00 pm


Main Stage

Event Details

“Schubert and More”
Chamber Quintet

Bar and patio open – 6:00 PM
Performance – 7:00 PM


Italian Serenade for String Quartet – Hugo Wolf (1860-1903)
Divertimento Op. 9 for oboe and strings – Bernhard Crusell (1775-1838)
String Quartet No.14 in D minor, D.810 – “Death and the Maiden” – Franz Schubert (1797-1828)


The String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, D 810, known as “Death and the Maiden,” is a piece by Franz Schubert that has been called “one of the pillars of the chamber music repertoire.” It was composed in 1824, after the composer suffered a serious illness and realized that he was dying. The quartet takes its name from the German lied “Der Tod und das Mädchen,” D 531, a setting of the poem of the same name by Matthias Claudius.

Sadly during Schubert’s lifetime, his music was appreciated only in small circles of admirers in Vienna. Following his death, he received more recognition; and now, Schubert is considered a master of beautiful melodies and is ranked among the greatest composers in the history of Western classical music.

Contemporary to Schubert (and Haydn and Mozart), composer Bernhard Crusell, is considered one of the great Finnish composers. Igor Leschichin, principal oboist of The Kennedy Center Opera House Orchestra returns to Greensboro to perform solo oboe.

Paired with a delightful Wolf Serenade, this concert is going to make a big impression on all.